Oxford Soto Zen
The Six Paramitas (Perfections)
> Dana - Giving
> Sila - Virtue
> Kshanti - Endurance or Patience
> Virya - Energy, Perseverance
> Dhyana - Meditation
> Prajna - Wisdom

      Robe Chant
Dai sai geda puku
Mu so fuku den e
Hi bu nyo rai kyo
Ko do sho shu jo
How great the robe of liberation!
A formless field of merit.
Wrapping ourselves in
Buddha's teaching,
We free all living beings.

The Four Noble Truths
1.  The World is Full of Suffering (Dukkha).

2. Suffering Arises from Grasping at or Clinging to Things.

3. There is a Way to End Suffering (by Realizing the Impermanence and Interconnectedness of all Phenomena, Including Ourselves).

4. There is a Path that Can Lead to Such a Realization. (The Noble Eight-Fold Path).

 The Noble 8-Fold Path
1. Right View
2. Right Intention
3. Right Speech
4. Right Action
5. Right Livlihood
6. Right Effort
7. Right Mindfulness
8. Right Concentration

This section includes 12 texts.  Please scroll down to locate each.

The 3 Pure Precepts - The 4 Great Vows of a Bodhisattva - The 4 Noble Truths - The 6 Paramitas - The 10 Grave Precepts - The 10 Names of Buddha - Bussorai (Male ancestors through Dogen) - Kannon Sutra - Metta Sutta - The Noble Eightfold Path - Prajna Paramita (The Heart Sutra) - The Robe Chant

Kannon (Compassion) Sutra
En mei jukku kannon gyo 

Kanzeon praise to Buddha
All are one with Buddha
All awake to Buddha
Buddha Dharma Sangha
Eternal joyous selfless pure
Through the day Kanzeon
Through the night Kanzeon
This moment arises with mind
This moment itself is mind

Kanzeon na mu
Butsu yo Butsu u
In yo Butsu u
en bup po
So en jo raku ga jo
Cho nen
Kanzeon bo nen
Kanzeon nen nen
Ju shin ki nen nen
Fu ri shin

The 10 Names of Buddha

> Vairochana Buddha
  - Pure Dharmakaya
> Lochana Buddha
  - Complete Sambhogakaya
> Shakyamuni Buddha
  - Myriad Nirmanakaya
> Maitreya Buddha
  - Of Future Birth
> Lotus of the Wondrous Dharma
  - Mahayana Sutra
> Manjushri Bodhisattva
  - Great Wisdom
> Samantabhadra Bodhisattva
  - Great Activity
> Avalokiteshvara Bodhisattva
  - Great Compassion
> All Honored Ones
  - Bodhisattva(s)
  - Mahasattvas

The Four Great Vows of a Bodhisattva


Beings are numberless;

I vow to free them.

Delusions are inexhaustible;

I vow to end them.

Dharma gates are boundless;

I vow to enter them.

The Buddha Way is unsurpassed;

I vow to realize it.

Metta (Loving Kindness) Sutta

This is what may be accomplished by
     The one who is wise
Who seeks the good
     And has obtained peace

Let one be strenuous upright and sincere
     Without pride
Easily contented and joyous

Let one not be submerged
     By the things of the world
Let one not take upon oneself
     The burden of riches
Let one's senses be controlled
Let one be wise but not puffed up
Let one not desire great possessions
     Even for one's family
Let one do nothing that is mean or
     That the wise would reprove

May all beings be happy
     May they be joyous and live in safety

All living beings whether weak or strong
     In high or middle or low
Realms of existence
     Small or great
Visible or invisible
     Near or far
Born or yet to be born
     May all beings be happy

Let no one deceive another
     Nor despise any being in any state
Let none by anger or hatred
     Wish harm to another
Even as a mother at the risk of her life
     Watches over and protects
Her only child
     So with a boundless mind
May one cherish all living beings
     Suffusing love over the entire world
Above below and all around without limit

So let one cultivate an infinite good will
     Toward the whole world
Standing or walking
     Sitting or lying down
During all one's waking hours
     Let one cherish the thought that
This way of living is the best in the world
Abandoning vain discussion
     Having a clear vision
Freed from sense appetites
     One who realizes the way
Will never again know rebirth
     In the cycle of creation of suffering
For ourselves or for others.

I vow:
        To renounce all evil;
        To practice all good;
        To free all beings.

1.  No Killing
2.  No Stealing
3.  No Abuse of Sexuality
4.  No Lying
5.  No Use of Mind-Altering Substances
6.  No Discussing the Faults of Others
7.  No Boasting
8.  No Possessiveness Concerning  the
     Dharma Assets
9.  No Expressing Anger against Another
10.  No Defaming the Three Treasures:
       Buddha, Dharma nor Sangha

   The Prajna Paramita        
(The Heart Sutra)

Avalokiteshvara, Bodhisattva, when deeply practicing Prajna Paramita
Clearly saw that all five aggregates are empty and thus relieved all suffering.

Form does not differ from emptiness; emptiness does not differ from form.
Form itself is emptiness; emptiness itself form.
Sensations, perceptions, formations and consciousness are also like this. 

All dharmas are marked by emptiness.
They neither arise nor cease, are neither defiled nor pure,
Neither increase nor decrease.
Therefore, given emptiness, there is
No form, no sensation, no perception , no formation, no consciousnes;
No eyes, no ears, no nose, no tongue, no body, no mind;
No sight, no sound, no smell, no taste, no touch, no object of mind;
No realm of sight, no realm of mind consciousness.

There is neither ignorance nor extinction of ignorance;
Neither old age and death nor extinction of old age and death;

No suffering, no cause, no cessation, no path;
No knowledge and no attainment.

With nothing to attain a Bodhisattva relies on Prajna Paramita, and thus
               the mind is without hindrance. 
Without hindrance, there is no fear.

Far beyond all inverted views, one realizes nirvana.

All buddhas of past, present and future rely on Prajna Paramita and thereby
Attain unsurpassed, complete, perfect enlightenment.

Therefore know the Prajna Paramita as
The great miraculous mantra, the great bright mantra,
The supreme mantra, the incomparable mantra,
Which removes all suffering and is true not false.

Therefore we proclaim the Prajna Paramita Mantra, the mantra that says:

"Gate, Gate, Paragate, Parasamgate, Bodhi Svaha!"


                 BUSSORAI - The names of our Buddhist Ancestors

         These are the names of our male ancestors, through Eihei Dogen.

         Through face-to-face transmission and through taking on the Bodhisattva’s task of teaching and transmitting the Dharma to disciples, they, with our female ancestors, have made our Buddhist Practice possible today.

         When chanted, “Butsu, Daiosho” follows each name.

Each name in Bold is punctuated with a clank (X) after "Daiosho."

  1. Bibashi Butsu Daiosho  X
  2. Shiki Butsu Daiosho (etc.)
  3. Bishafu
  4. Kuruson
  5. Kunagonmuni
  6. Kasho
  7. Shakyamuni   X
  8. Makakasho
  9. Ananda
  10. Shonawashu
  11. Ubakikuta
  12. Daitaka
  13. Mishaka
  14. Bashumitta  X
  15. Butsudanandai
  16. Fudamitta
  17. Barishiba
  18. Funayasha
  19. Anabotei
  20. Kabimora
  21. Nagyaharajuna  X
  22. Kanadaiba
  23. Ragorata
  24. Sogyanandai
  25. Kayashata
  26. Kumorata
  27. Shayata
  28. Bashubanzu  X
  29. Manura
  30. Kakurokuna
  31. Shishibodai
  32. Funyomitta
  33. Bashishita
  34. Hannyatara
  35. Bodaidaruma  X
  36. Taiso Eka
  37. Kanchi Sosan
  38. Daii Doshin
  39. Daiman Konin
  40. Daikan Eno  X
  41. Seigen Gyoshi
  42. Sekito Kisen
  43. Yakusan Igen
  44. Ungan Donjo
  45. Tozan Ryokai  X
  46. Ungo Doyo
  47. Doan Dohi
  48. Doan Kanshi
  49. Ryozan Enkan
  50. Taiyo Kyogen
  51. Toshi Gisei  X
  52. Fuyo Dokai
  53. Tanka Shijun
  54. Choro Seiryo
  55. Tendo Sokaku
  56. Seicho Chikan
  57. Tendo Nyojo
  58. Eihei Dogen  X